Sew Many Projects, Sew Little Time…

Today my frustration level is really high.  I have many projects at home, waiting for me in my sewing room, wondering if I’ll ever get to them.  They are probably feeling a little rejected since I haven’t even had the time lately to visit my sewing room, and it’s just down the hall from the office.  I guess this is just the shell shock of being in the “real world” of work.  I get up every day and go to work (except Saturday and Sunday) and then I come home, eat dinner, do the dishes, start some laundry, perhaps veg on the couch or check e mail, and then go to bed. When am I supposed to sew in that schedule? I know I shouldn’t complain, because this is the real world and in the real world not many people have a lot of free time to do their hobbies. I guess the hardest part for me is that my Dear Husband (DH) is a teacher, and he gets the entire summer off. That means he gets to sleep late, stay up late, and wear his pajamas all day long during the summer if he wants to.  So, needless to say, I am jealous. BUT the worst part of it is, I used  to be the one who got to sleep late and wear my pjs all day, because I used to be a teacher as well.  Actually the summer after my first year teaching I spent planning my wedding, and the second summer I spent getting married, going on a honeymoon and looking for a new job!  So boo hoo because I didn’t get to spend either of those summers in my PJs.  I know, I just need to get off my lazy behind and set a schedule and tell myself, “I AM going to sew, EVERY NIGHT” and then just do it! Even though I get a few vacation days, and I used them for fun mini vacations, they seem so few and far between.  Sorry to ramble about my “plight” I mean, it could be much worse I suppose. I could be working two or three jobs just to make ends meet. I coud be working outside in the 90 to 100 degree weather and hoping that I don’t get heatstroke.  I don’t know, maybe I am having some sort of mid life crisis – but early.  I am trying to re-examine my true purpose in life because I don’t know what I want to do for my career anymore. I thought it was teaching, but so far that hasn’t worked out. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy teaching, I didn’t enjoy the pressure to always be perfect when it was my first year and I was just learning how to be a good teacher.  I feel like I never got a chance to become the great teacher I know I could have been. I have become a synic about the world of education, which usually takes more than two years of teaching to happen.  I am also very fortunate that I am even able to invest money in fabric and a fancy sewing machine. I am slowing realizing that life truly is about finding a balance. A balance between work and fun, a balance between spending and saving. I guess those people who write all those self help books about balance really know what they are talking about.  My plan for today is to go home and sew, but we’ll see if that happens. Until next time.

Happy Quilting,

Anna L.

August 9, 2007. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

