Barefoot Quilter

Do you think the Barefoot Contessa Ina Garten would mind if I borrowed her idea and became the Barefoot Quilter?  I actually do sew without shoes, it’s more relaxing and I think it makes it easier to adjust the pressure on the pedal.  Only problem is, if one of those pins ever fell on the floor, OUCH!  So far I have been lucky.  I also noticed something. I am not very good at following patterns.  I think that mostly it is because the majority of the patterns I use are poorly written. I always feel like I need to do something to make it easier to understand or create something in a different way.   I have no real artsy talent or anything, but often times I can see something in my head and getting it to happen in reality is a whole other monster,  (see my previous post called Exciting New Project).  I have made a cover for my sewing machine, no pattern, just measured the machine and cut fabric to create a box with one end open. It turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself. I have also made a new cover for my ironing board just from using the old cover as a pattern. Also, whenever I make a bag, I pretty much end up changing it in some way from the pattern to make it more to my tastes or styles. I guess that sewing is my creative outlet, when I get inspired to do something.  I have collected several quilt patterns, but all of the cutting and precision throws me off because I am not very good at doing things in a precise way. Maybe I should learn to make scrappy quilts that are supposed to look off centered, hehe.  Well, those are my musings for the day. Who knows what the afternoon will bring.

Happy Sewing,

Anna L.

August 22, 2007. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Lisa W. replied:

    Hi Anna,

    Thanks for stopping by my bog. Wow what a neat Idea, I never thought of making a cover for my sewing machine and ironing board. I think I will have to do that! As for percision I fill your pain. LOL. I like to do blocks that are fast and easy. I have the perfect quilt blocks for you. I just love them. They are by Mary Lou Weidman and are called Hoochy Mama blocks. They are fast, easy and scrappy! I got her to come and do a Memory Quilt workshop for our guild, she is really fun. She has a website where you can get her Hoochy Mamma Quilts Book. Just do a search for her name on google. I can’t think of what her site name is at the moment. Great blog and thanks for putting me on your list. Talk to you later.

    Lisa (allpeoplequilt.com)

  2. wandering quilter replied:

    I LOVE the name the “Barefoot Quilter”, go for it!

    As for all that technical stuff like measuring, and reading patterns… I too fail abysmally at it. “Measure twice, cut once”? Eh? Doesn’t matter, I still get it wrong.

    I am at my happiest when I just start grabbing material, cutting some strips and squares, and letting my imagination wander. No pattern, no rules, just whatever!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

