Curtains and Fabric in a Room

Highlights from this post include:

  • Fabric can be the inspiration for a room
  • Fabric can set the tone of a room
  • Curtains set the mood and provide privacy

This is a very exciting post for me because I get to discuss one of my other passions, fabric! I am so thrilled that just the other day I was at a thrift store and found some very pretty home made curtains for only $6 each! It would have been impossible to get as much fabric and trim that were on those curtains for $6. This fabric, a soft blue with creamy flowers and a creamy trim is the inspiration for my future guest room. I decided I want to have one “shabby chic” room in my house and the guest room gets that distinction. I have read over and over that it is easier to match paint to fabric than the other way around, and I know from experience that this is true. So, I am using the curtain panel that I purchased as the starting point for the color for my guest room. Even though “shabby chic” has a certain look for furniture, white with worn edges, soft blues, everything that looks well worn and well loved, fabric in a room can set the tone as well. There is a very distinct style for shabby chic in fabrics, lots of creams, blues, pinks and soft tones. Also, Rachel Ashwell, who, I believe, coined the term, “shabby chic” has an entire line of shabby chic accessories at Target. But, instead of purchasing those great items, which are still in the realm of the decorating budget, I am using the panel I found at the thrift store. I just have to figure out how to hang it, hmm… that’s a topic for my other blog, about sewing. I plan to get a really nice white iron curtain rod I saw at Lowe’s for about $15, it has the worn look to it as well. Luckily, there is only one window in the room. As of right now, the room is bright pink with a blue ceiling with white clouds, someday, I am going to repaint the ceiling and walls to different shades of a soft blue (from the fabric) and repaint the blue accented base boards to a cream color that we used on the baseboards in our bedroom. If you find the right place, you can get great curtains (or curtain fabric) for very little cost. It just takes knowing what you want and waiting until you find it. Well, until next time.

Happy Decorating,

Anna L.

August 31, 2007. Quilting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

