Technology is cool

Since I am on my week long vacation, I finally had time to install my new EQ6 program for designing quilts. I found that I could no longer use the excuse that I didn’t have the time to install it, so I did. And I completed two lessons from the manual, a very cool concept, create lessons about the program instead of just a troubleshooting guide.  I have to say, I do like the program very much. I have already created a few designs that I am pleased with and I don’t even know what I am doing! I just read the Better Home and Gardens special publication about the quilts that were dontated to the Quilt Pink auction from last year. It was so inspiring to see the fabulous quilts everyone created. When I finished reading the magazine cover to cover, I decided I would install my new software and see if I could design a quilt pink quilt of my own.  I have a couple of ideas to play with already.  I sort of wish I had installed it sooner since the card trick block is a pre programmed block in there already and would have been helpful when creating my practice block, I think. 

 I have recently come upon the realization that quilting and sewing are a very giving hobby by the nature of the craft.  For example, when I think back to the Christmases of my childhod I remember that my grandmother always gave the children something that was handmade.  She was always making dresses for us, and my paternal grandmother made one quilt for every one of her twenty or so grandchildren.  I have one on my bed and my sister has one on her’s.  This is how we feel connected to them even though they are no longer alive.  In fact, my grandmother’s quilt inspired me to do a project in college that turned into a geneology quest in which I learned more about my grandmother than I ever knew when she was living.  It’s amazing how quilts can connect people like that. But I digress, what I was saying was that almost every project I plan to make is to be made with the intention of passing it on to someone else.  For example, I am trying to give handmade gifts to everyone on my list this year.  Someone could make quilt after quilt after quilt, but the best satisfaction is gained when you see the appreciative look on the recipiant’s face when you give them the handmade gift.  The local quilt guild that I am planning on joining this month, the Alamo Heritage Quilt Guild, has given more than 15 quilts to their specified charity in just one year.  I find that to be amazing.  And to see that over 4000 quilts were donated to the Quilt Pink auction to raise money for breast cancer research gives a glimmer of hope in the battle against this disease as well as proof that quilting is a very giving craft.  OK, time to go now, but let us remember, in the month of October that is breast cancer awareness month, that everyone can make a difference if we work together for a common goal.

Until next time, Happy Quilting,

 Anna L.

October 4, 2007. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

