Weekend Update

I had a fabulous birthday weekend. The weather was beautiful. I was able to spend a few hours stitching on that Christmas present for someone.  I opened my Frenchy Bag kit which I had ordered for myself for my birthday (from my hubby) and it is great! I have already washed the fabric and plan to start on that very soon.  I finally figured out a layout for some blocks I got in a block swap between my dad’s six sisters and me (a total of about seven blocks, I think). The problem? None of the blocks were the same size. So, with some visual guidance from my Aunt Debbie who has already assembled the blocks into a small quilt (she sent pictures), I have laid out the plan. I also plan to add the words “Welcome Autumn” since these blocks all have a fall theme to them.  I already cut the words out of wool felt and will applique them on. (What was I thinking!? I have not gotten enough of applique yet?) Actually, compared to that Chrismas Applique present I am making, this fall thing I am making should be a snap. Not sure what it will be yet, it’s too small to be a lap quilt, and too wide and short to be a table runner.  I don’t really ever hang wall hangings, so who knows! Perhaps I’ll have to make a wall hanging exception if I ever get this one finished.  (Oh no, that means figuring out how to hang it!) I am so jealous of those who are attending the Houston Quilt Show right now. It looks so fun! I have decided that next year I am going to ask my hubby to send me to the Quilt Festival for my birthday present. It is always the first weekend of November and that is one week after my birthday.  I would be so fun to go for more than just one day. I’ll have to start scheming with my mother in law about it.  This year I would be happy to just go for one day, but I am sure it would be expensive to just jet up there for a day. (And I do mean jet, otherwise we would spend half the time driving since it’s a four hour drive, ONE WAY.) If you want to see pictures from the festival, visit The Fat Quarter Shop’s blog, the Jolly Jabber. They have ton of pictures of stuff that is only open to vendors right now.  It looks like sew much fun! OK, I think I have rambled enough. I should probably get back to work. Hehe. Thanks everyone for your wonderful comments and for letting me know that you are out there! I thought maybe there was a computer malfunction and only ghosts were reading my blog. Yeah, I am not alone in this, my quilting quest. Until next time.

Stay in Stitches,

Anna

October 29, 2007. Tags: , , , , . Quilting.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

