Projects Update and Some Random Thoughts

What progress have I made on my Christmas presents? NONE! Why? Because I am seriously time impaired at the moment. I DID work on fringing the scarves last night. Got them all cut, just have to finish tying the knots.  They are super cute by the way. I have been having some trouble with allergies, my eyes are all “goopy” and they feel better when I take out my contacts and put eye drops in, but the prescription in my glasses is super old, plus the nosepiece broke so they are rather uncomfortable to wear.  The allergens I attribute to the winds we have been having around here lately, plus the very dry weather.  The funny part is that my hubby hasn’t been affected as much as he normally is.  Typically, his allergies are worse than mine.  Plus, I was home, working dilligently on fringing the scarves and was planning to get to making the present for my brother when hubby comes home and since it was 7:00 pm and I had not cooked anything, he decided we should go out.  Well, that took us from about 7:30 pm until 9:45 pm because after dinner we went to Starbucks/Barnes and Noble.  By the way, I can’t even BELIEVE I didn’t buy a book! I just kept looking at all the books and thinking, “I can probably get this at my library, for FREE!” Wow, that is a major difference in my thinking.  Plus, I still have a book at home that I purchased a while back and haven’t even cracked open yet. It’s in the Shopaholic series, called Shopaholic and Sister.  I love those books, but for some reason haven’t been in the mood to read or haven’t had time.  Oh, something totally awesome I just found out today. If you bring in your own coffee mug to Starbucks they will fill it with your drink! I recently went back to my alma mater to speak about electronic portfolios to the graduate students (being that I just finished in that program and we have to do an eportfolio in order to graduate). As a thank you gift, they gave me an awesome tall, travel mug for coffee. I don’t usually drink coffee but occasionally I’ll go to Starbucks. So, today I went to Starbucks and asked if they would fill my mug with a tall Cinnamon Dolce Latte, they said YES! Awesome!  This is so cool because that means ONE LESS paper coffee cup and plastic lid in the LANDFILLS!  So cool! I don’t know, I am on this super environmental kick lately.  I totally blame that on my sister. I think everyone who goes to Starbucks should bring their own mugs. Ah, but I digress.  My mom did not come to my house to work on her blocks last night because the San Antonio Spurs were playing the Dallas Mavericks and she had to stay home and watch them.  The irony was twofold, one, they lost anyway, and two, my hubby and I went to eat at Bennigan’s and we were literally SURROUNDED by televisions with the Spurs game on! (We are not big Spurs fans, looooong story there.)  Can anyone tell me WHY my list of projects is actually GROWING while the amount of time I have to finish them is SHRINKING!? AHHHHG! I need another marathon week of sewing. In fact, an e mail group I am on called the Quilter’s Corner Club (QCC) has a Sew-In coming up the first week of December, it’s called the Last Ditch Christmas Sew-In.  Even though I can’t take any time off during the day, I am going to do my best to do some sort of sewing every night that week! It is sort of like an on line quilting bee, they share recipes and fun stuff.  I really like that group, they are really fun and I am so glad that I joined it. If you want to join, just search the Quilter’s Corner Club on the Yahoo! Groups page. I am participating in the November Secret Swapper Club and I just found out who my Secrect Sister is, yeah! I can’t wait to get some goodies for her and to recieve my package from my secrect sister! I love to get mail! OK, I should probably STOP rambling now!  One last thing, I have REALLY enjoyed organizing and hosting the Holiday Charm Swap.  I have received some of the charms already and they are sew awesome!  I am thinking of trying to organize either a year long or six month charm swap where we exchange charms for an entire year! By the end of the year we might even have enough to make a quilt or something!  That would be sooo cool! OK, gotta go.

Happy Quilting, Sewing, and Swapping,

Anna

November 16, 2007. Tags: , , , , , . Holidays, Quilting.

2 Comments

  1. Liberty replied:

    Cinnamon Dolce Latte … mmmmmmmmm, one of my favorites!
    Love your blog!

  2. Leisa replied:

    Hi Anna,

    That sounds great. If you don’t mind, I am willing to do the charm swap. I am so excited to get my package. I just love mail, especially if it isn’t a bill!!

    Thanks,
    Leisa

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

