Goals for the New Year

I looked up “resolution” in Merriam-Webster online. When the 7 definitions they provided didn’t really help, I clicked the link for “resolve” and this is what I found.

resolve: : break up separate <the prism resolved the light into a play of color>; also : to change by disintegration b: to reduce by analysis <resolve the problem into simple elements> c: to distinguish between or make independently visible adjacent parts of d: to separate (a racemic compound or mixture) into the two components3: to cause resolution of (a pathological state)4 a: to deal with successfully : clear up <resolve doubts> <resolve a dispute> b: to find an answer to c: to make clear or understandable d: to find a mathematical solution of e: to split up (as a vector) into two or more components especially in assigned directions 5: to reach a firm decision about <resolve to get more sleep> <resolve disputed points in a text>

After reading six of those definitions and their sub definitions, I finally read number 5, “to reach a firm decision about…” and that sounded like what I was planning to do. But since I have resolved to not ever make any more New Year’s resolutions, I have decided to make Goals for the New Year instead.  Disclaimer: These goals have vast potential to change throughout the year. The point of having goals is to have something to reach for, something to motivate you to make changes in your life, well, that’s not Merriam Webster’s definition, but that’s how I see it.

A new year is a new beginning, right? But then again, time is relative and if you talk to my husband (the Physics teacher) long enough about the subject, you might begin to think that time doesn’t really exist. Then again, since I am not talking to my husband, but hopefully many like minded individuals who love to sew, collect fabric, plan for new projects and collect more fabric, I will share my goals for this coming year. (Is the suspense killing you yet? Gee, talk about long winded!)

Goal #1: Get back in shape.

OK, this one is sort of cliche for the new year, but there’s no time like the present, right? The wonderful place where I work has an on site fitness center will low or no cost fitness classes! I also have an elliptical machine that has been steadily collecting dust since sometime around March.  I have free on demand FitTV whenever I care to watch it, so I really have NO excuse why I am not in better shape, EXCEPT that I am LAZY! So I have to change that, especially if I want to be healthy and happy before I have kids. And I do. I think being in better shape with help my energy level and my emotional levels. OK, enough about THAT!

Goal #2: Finish a project before buying fabric for another project.

This is one I have a lot of problems with. Lately, my mom has started to get interested in sewing, well, ever since I talked her into taking the beginner’s quilting class with me. So, this means I have to show her where all the good fabric stores are and we have purchased the supplies to finish our quilts (from the class) and another kit to start our next project.  But, I still have several other kits that I should put together before buying fabric for another project! Even if my original plan for a quilt becomes a simple table runner, I am going to make it my goal to FINISH at least one project before buying any more fabric for totally new projects. This will be difficult but I hope that it will help me with my UFO Challenge as well. 

Goal #3: Take steps to be more Eco-friendly in order to save money and “lighten my footsteps” on the Earth

The phrase “lighten my footsteps” has been used by my sister and many of her eco-concious friends. I think it is appropriate because it would be difficult to completely wipe out any impact one has on this Earth and that may not be desirable, but I just want to be more concious of what I purchase and what I do with the packaging after I am finished with something. I have recently begun to put EVERYTHING in my recycle bin that has the recycling triangle. When we first started to have recycling service, there were rules about what you could recycle, only plastic bottles or alumninum cans or newspaper. But I just decided that if it has that triangle on it, it should be recycled and so I put it in our recycle bin. Well, I haven’t gotten any notification that this is not allowed, so I keep doing it. I think this has resulted in more recycling and less going in the trash, which makes me feel good. As far as being eco-concious to save money, my dear husband is going to be sealing our leaky windows today (hopefully) so that we can reduce our heating bills. In fact, since we spend most of our at home time upstairs, we don’t really turn the heat on very much. But since our last house was new construction and one story all brick, it was a big change to move into a two story, mostly siding, 10 year old with leaky windows house. We still enjoy the prospect of fixing this house up and making it our own, but I can’t stand it when I walk downstairs and I feel like I am walking in to a freezer! Plus, we live in the southernish part of Texas. It doesn’t really get very cold around here, but lately we have had some cold spells so it will be nice to have an air tight house.

Goal#4: Take a moment each day to count my blessings and be happy.

I have had some difficulty transitioning from a teaching job, albeit stressful and at times traumatic, to a desk job where I make more money but get less satisfaction and fewer days off!  This has been, I believe, especially difficult, because my husband is a teacher now and he gets all those days off that I had when I was a teacher, and all those years that I was in school.  It is difficult to be in the “real” business world, but for some strange reason I am sort of in this limbo world, where I make a fairly good salary but since I am considered a temporary contract worker, I have no real paid holidays to speak of, yet or paid time off. This limbo world has really caused me to re-evaluate what I want to do with my life and my career.  At times it has also cause me to feel extremely depressed and despairing. Do I want to spend the rest of my life doing quality assurance when it is completely boring, frustrating and not satisfying whatsoever?  OK, sorry I have digressed a bit. In order to refocus my energy in a more positive way, I want to have the goal of each day, taking time to reflect on the good in my life. A caring and loving husband, a nice warm house (or cool depending on the seasons), a good job and financial security. Caring parents who would bend over backward to help me out if I needed it.  The fact that I get along with my in laws and my mother in law is one of my best friends.  These are reasons to be happy and perhaps, I should remember that and just do my boring job and go home and not think about it.  That will be a journey I take this year, I think, to discover what it is that I am supposed to be doing in this life.  

Well, these are my goals for this year, and probably for many years to come. They are not necessarily things that can just be accomplished in one day or one year (you have no idea how many UFOs I have).  But, I invite you along for the journey and hopefully it will be fun and educational at the same time. I have some goals for this blog as well. I want to add some tutorials as the year progresses.  I need to be a bit more organized in my approach, but I like being able to just ramble on, even if no one ever reads it. One of my major goals for this blog is to post MORE pictures! If you feel like it, please share some of your goals or resolutions for the new year. Until next time.

Happy Goal Making,

Anna

December 31, 2007. Tags: , , , , . Goals.

One Comment

  1. Ruthie replied:

    Anna ~

    I love your resolutions. 🙂 Goal #3 sounds just like my New Years Resolution. 🙂 I will post a picture for you on my blog right now.

    Peace!
    Ruthie

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

