A Sew Along

Well, as if I didn’t need any more projects to do I went and joined a sew along. Last year, Kelli and Finny hosted the In Stiches Sew Along, you can still see those pictures on flickr.  I didn’t find out about it until early December and then it was tooo late. Oh well, they chose a new book for 2008 and even though it’s not the one I bought, it looks like a great book. I decided to join the sew along, they make a project every month and post pictures to the Flickr group. The fun part is seeing all of the different variations of the same pattern.  If you want to join the fun, click the Finny and Donk’s Sewing Adventures image in my side bar which will take you to the Flickr site. They don’t have anything posted on there yet because the first project isn’t due until the end of February so in the mean time, order the book and while you are waiting, check out Kelli and Finny‘s respective blogs.  The book we are using for the sew along is Simple Gifts to Stitch  and I plan to order it very soon if I can’t find it at Barnes & Noble (I have the discount card). The great thing about the flickr sew along pool is that there is space for discussion and with at least 25 people of different skill levels trying the same pattern each month, there is plenty of opportunity to ask questions. I think it is a great concept. Hopefully this book will allow me to stretch my creative wings and use some of my stash so that I can buy more! Actually, I don’t have too much “stash” that isn’t meant for future projects. But if I ever finish any projects, I’ll be able to get more for my stash! Plus, there is the Shop Hop in April and Quilt Festival in Houston.  There will be plenty of opportunity to stash up. 

 I started cutting the fabrics for the Chelsea Boutique quilt and it’s a pain! Imagine this, 18 lights, 18 darks. All 9″ wide by 42″ long (1/4 yard) strips. All need to be a) pressed b) cut down to 5″ c) sub cut to smaller squares or strips depending on light or dark. I hope I can get this cut before the end of this year! Then, as I was counting the fabrics at the beginning, it seemed like they had shorted us one light print! I think I realized later that after I cut the strips for the binding, I had exactly enough to substitute for a dark print and then could choose one of the “lighter” dark prints to be a light print. But before I decided that, I ordered a print online that I liked. Unfortunately, I had to order an entire yard. Boo hoo. Oh well, more for my stash! I’ll be sure to post the pictures of the cutting process later tonight, after the quilting class. Well, I guess that’s all for now. At least this new sew along and quilt project will give me more to write about that is actually probably interesting to everyone. Until next time.

Happy Stitches,

Anna

January 8, 2008. Tags: , , , . friendsday, sew along.

One Comment

  1. Ruthie replied:

    Anna ~

    I’m glad you’re getting into the eco-friendly groove. 🙂

    Miss and love you, now more than ever!
    Ruthie (4 more months!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

