Last Class

Tonight is our last Beginner’s Quilt class. We are supposed to have a “Show and Tell” meeting in a few more weeks. It has been a real struggle to get the quilt top done. In fact, I have the borders on but have not figured out the mitered corners yet. I am sure there are some great tutorials out there on the vast Internet. I just haven’t had the time to look it up. Hopefully my teacher will have her machine there tonight and a little extra time to help me. I really wanted to do it myself but I got to a point where I just couldn’t do any more last night. Plus, my mom came over to work on her quilt top and even though she remembered her machine, she forgot the power cord!!  So, we had to share my machine which worked out but was difficult because I really wanted to finish my quilt top all the way last night!  That’s part of life I suppose. It has been really fun to spend time with my mom and learn something new. I hope to be able to get some better pictures, especially after I’ve finished quilting it.  I plan to do something with butterflies in the quilting design since the large “blank” blocks have outlines of butterflies on them.  I am also considering “renting” some time on a long arm machine at one of my local quilt shops. There are two I can think of who rent out the time on them.  Unfortunately, I am not sure how much success I’ll have on my first attempt so I may need to rent time just to practice!  In other news, I have decided that I am not going to participate in the Sew Along on Flickr.  After purchasing the book, I realized that the projects and patterns in that book just aren’t my style. I don’t feel like I would be motivated to do any of the projects and I would rather spend my time on projects I am motivated to do. Good luck to all those who are participating and I hope you learn a lot and enjoy yourselves.  Well, that’s about it for now. Sorry no pictures to share. I’ll keep you posted on my progress. After the blue sampler beginner’s quilt, it’s time to get going on Chelsea’s Boutique! Until next time.

 Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

January 22, 2008. Tags: , , , , , . Beginner's Quilt Class, quilt designs, Quilting, sew along, sewing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

