Progress Being Made

This has been a very productive weekend for me!  I have finally figured out mitered borders and finished the borders on the Blue Butterfly Sampler.  See?

bluebutterflysamplerwithborders.jpg I guess it may be difficult to see, but there is a blue with white polka dots border on the outside with beautifully mitered corners. Now, the hard part, quilting it! I have some ideas. I want to use a butterfly motif but I need to practice, A LOT before I get to do it on my real quilt.

I went to the t-shirt quilt class yesterday and was at the store from 10 am until they closed at 6:00pm.  I almost finished the ENTIRE quilt! I am still debating if I want to add another row because when I got home I found three more t-shirts. If I add another row, It will make it a little longer and little bit more symmetrical. I don’t know, I just want to finish it because I am so close now. I am going to add an additional 4″ border around the outside edge which will encompass the images from the front of the t-shirts. These are shirts I have saved since I was a collegiate in my sorority, Phi Mu.  I never wanted to throw them away or give them away but I didn’t really want to wear them much more. So, I saved them and when I saw this thing called a t-shirt quilt, I KNEW that’s what I wanted to do with those shirts, eventually.  I went to class yesterday, we laid out the t-shirts in the approximate arrangement. Very easy, see?

tshirtquiltbefore.jpg  Next we cut the shirts along the sides, all the way up to the top. I realized that any extra t-shirt material I had could be used as household rags for dusting and cleaning! Very eco-friendly! 

 tshirtquiltstep2.jpg  Next I fused the stabilizer to the backs of the shirts and cut them to the size of the quilt block I wanted. Mine turned out to be 12 1/2″.

tshirtquilttop.jpg Then, I picked out sashing material, cut it to size and started sewing it together. If I hadn’t been chatting with my buddy Lauri so much, I probably would have finished a lot faster but it was fun anyway.  Can you see that I’ve layed out where I want the small squares along the border?  In the middle of the second row is the best t-shirt. It commemorates the 150 anniversary of Phi Mu in 2002.  That was the year I graduated from college as well. Putting this shirt together was really a walk down memory lane for me. I was sort of surprised how many memories I associated with a plain old t-shirt.  I still need to select the border and get that put on (no mitered corners this time!) And of course I need to get the backing, baste it and quilt it and bind it!  Wow, still a lot to do. But I can’t believe how quickly it went together otherwise.  Well, gotta go now. We are going to lunch with my in laws. Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

January 27, 2008. Tags: , , , . Beginner's Quilt Class, Quilting, sewing.

5 Comments

  1. Lauri replied:

    Wow Anna! That butterfly quilt is coming along beautifully!

    And I had so much fun in that class Saturday! One of the reasons I like that quilt store so much is because they are so laid back, and everyone has such a great sense of humor. Your quilt is looking great, too! It looks great like it is, but, if you found 3 more shirts and want to add them on, go for it! It’s so easy, and it would put that gold Anniversary t-shirt right in the middle, which I know you were wanting…it will look great that way also. (I should have taken a picture of mine yesterday, while the sun was out and a great picture taking day, but I didn’t and now, of course, it’s totally gross outside.)

  2. Lori Seaborg replied:

    A t-shirt quilt is a great idea! I’m taking my first quilting class in a week….I’ve done a bit, but just self-taught stuff. It’s time to learn from a person (not a book :)) who knows what she’s doing!

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and by the way, I really love the bag that’s showing up in your Flickr sidebar.

  3. moose845 replied:

    I love your t-shirt quilt! I keep after my husband to clean out his closet so I can have his old scuba diving t-shirts to make one of these. It would be awesome because all of his shirts are bright colors with parrots, sharks, pirates, etc.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I was so happy to see that someone actually read what I wrote. Keep on stitching!

  4. Lisa replied:

    Nice job on your sampler! I had my first class last thursday for my sampler but have not started it yet. I am waiting for the rest of my fabric to come. It should be here on Friday or early next week. I will post mine when I get the rest of my fabric. Nice job on the t-shirt quilt too, very neat idea. 🙂

  5. fatiah replied:

    The t-shirt quilt is really a wonderful thing Anna. I really like it. It is actually a collection of memories. I wish i have not been too rash with throwing t-shirts away due to storage constraint.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

