Fear of New Things

Now that I have pretty much completed both the Blue Butterfly Sampler quilt top and the t-shirt quilt top, I have to decide what my next project will be. I have practiced machine quilting, a little bit but haven’t worked up the courage to try it on my real quilt top yet.  I still have to figure out the whole basting thing.  Last night my mom came over to sew on her quilt top from the beginner’s class. She got two side sashings on.  She is still getting used to her new machine. So, while she was doing that I thought I would start a new project. I got out the Shangri-la jelly roll (a roll of one 2 1/2″ x 42″ strip of every fabric in one collection, usually about 30 fabrics) and the book I purchased with a pattern of a quilt I wanted to make. It is sort of like a log cabin design but elongated so that the blocks are rectangular instead of just squares.  I quickly realized that I was afraid I was going to mess up the fabric and cut the wrong ones and so, in the end, I didn’t even start the project!  The instructions in the book were for use with a different jelly roll and I had a lot of trouble translating their instructions to the colors I had in my hands.  So, I rolled it back up and decided I would wait for another day to try it, when I wasn’t so brain dead from doing QA all day long.  Perhaps this fear comes from my experience that even though quilters are usually extremely nice people, they tend to be a little critical of color choices and pattern preferences.  I just didn’t want to “mess up” a quilt that I was going to make. How could I tell if the purple fabric in the pattern was supposed to be the blue fabric or the red fabric that I had in my jelly roll?  When making the Chelsea’s Boutique quilt, it is easy because the fabrics match the fabrics in the pattern. This one requires thinking outside the box, which is difficult for me, who always buys the kit and then makes the quilt or bag or blanket that looks precisely like the picture. I have just had a thought though, I think I can use some of the left over strips from the Chelsea’s Boutique fabric and make a “practice block” which is something I always like to do.  This will help me to practice the technique and perhaps get a handle on the color placements for the block. **Deep breath** I think I can do it now. I have a plan and I hope to follow through. Perhaps tomorrow there will be pictures of my progress! Yeah! Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

January 29, 2008. Tags: , , . Beginner's Quilt Class, Quilting, sewing.

2 Comments

  1. bobbinhead replied:

    Yeah, I get scared of new things too. Usually because I can’t just go and buy more fabric because I’ve bought it online. I’ve spent weeks agonizing about making a border for my star quilt because I can’t just go and get more navy blue fabric. I did though. It nearly killed me to do it, but I’m proud of myself.

    Quilters are very nice people but don’t let them scare you. I had a hard time at first with fabric colors, but get the colors you love to work with 🙂

  2. ruthie replied:

    anna ~

    I responded to your comment on my blog but I’ll post it here too, just to make sure you see it:

    LOL Anna! I LOVE that little quilt, it’s absolutely GORGEOUS! I keep it as a cover to the incredibly ugly blue foot locker that we’re using as a coffee table and it makes it a joy to look at! 🙂

    Plus seeing as we’re moving in 3 months I didn’t feel like putting another hole in the wall.

    But I really do love it! It’s one of my favorite things. Gramma’s quilt… Anna’s applique quilt… Anna’s fuzzy blanket… blue gingham table cloth… pink granny square afghan… gustav klimt poster… my flower pressings.

    See it’s like #2! 🙂

    Love ya sis 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

