Inspiration

Lately, since finishing my Blue Butterfly Quilt top and almost finishing the t-shirt quilt, I haven’t been very inspired. Then I read the Sew Mama Sew blog and found out that February is Quilting Month. The first project they posted was a simple 9 patch block. Well, it could be simple, or it could be complicated. The more challenging was the variation called the Disappearing 9 Patch. I’ve mentioned before that I tried the Disappearing 9 Patch and since I didn’t have any solid measurements to start with, it did just that, began to disappear because as I cut it, the block kept getting smaller, and smaller.  But, eventually, I finished it and there was still some fabric left. And this is what it looks like.

disappearing9patch1.jpg

Not too bad, for a first attempt. Considering that I had no idea what I was doing when I started, I probably would have thought it out a little more about the lights and darks, but I wanted it to look “scrappy.” I made it from the left over strips from cutting out the Chelsea’s Boutique quilt.   I think there will be another project posted tomorrow, Friday February 8th, since I have checked every day this week and there has just been a different inspirational story about quilts every day.  So, that was one source of inspiration for me. Another source has been a very cool package I received from my Aunt Debbie a couple of days ago. You see, I’ve started trying to collect pictures of the quilts my Grandmother Groff (paternal) made for all of her 10 children and 20+ grandchildren.  My Aunt Debbie has been so kind to send me some photos already. Turns out she has a quilt in the exact same Dresden Plate pattern and colors as my parents. But, she also told me that she was going to send me a wall hanging that Grandma Groff had made that she thought I would like. Here it is:

wallhanging2.jpg

See my lime green walls? Guess what? That light blue color is actually an accent color in my sewing room! It is the same color as the sheers I have on my windows. She was right, I really do love it. Here is another reason why… When my grandmother passed away, we received a large box with lots of her things. I ended up with several of them, each of the grandchildren and my parents got a quilt, and I also found this wall hanging in there…

wallhanging11.jpg

Look familiar? It’s the long lost mate of the other wall hanging! This one has been hanging in my sewing room since we moved to this house, I had kept it for several years, hoping to have a place to hang it and now I have TWO! Thank you soooo much Aunt Debbie! I am now surrounded by inspiration from Grandma Groff who is really my muse sometimes.  And just look at the beautiful hand quilting she did on it! Click on each picture for a closer view. 

                          quilting3.jpg      quilting2.jpg     quilting4.jpg

Well, I am off to go and upload my disappearing 9 patch block picture to the Sew Mama Sew Quilting Month Flickr Pool. It may only be about 9″ square, but I am proud of it!  Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

February 7, 2008. Tags: , , . Quilting, Quilting Month, sewing.

3 Comments

  1. BCQuilter replied:

    Hi Anna,

    When you made the disappearing 9-patch… did you make the 9-patch first… then cut it in quarters and re-sew?

    Or is your technique different?

    Your grandmother’s wall-hangings are very nice!

    -Alice

  2. Leisa replied:

    Anna,

    How sweet of your Aunt Debbie to send you such a treasure. What a surprise you recieved! You are one lucky girl. I think it is just wonderful that you have family quilts. I just love the disappearing 9 patch. The fabric colors are great also.

  3. Lauri replied:

    You are so lucky to have things from your grandmother! I don’t know what happened to most of my grandmother’s stuff, and none of my mom’s sisters will fess up. We only have some of her aprons.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

