French Fry Free February

I have decided that I need yet another challenge. This one is for my health and will go along with goal #1 to get back in shape, sort of.  My challenge to myself for this month is to go an entire month, that’s 29 days this month, without french fries.  Considering that I have gotten into a not-so-good habit of running over to the local fast food place a couple of times a week, this may be difficult. Or maybe not. I didn’t say I couldn’t eat out, just no french fries. So, on Monday I went to Subway and got a mini sub with ham and swiss, chips a drink and a cookie. (I know the cookie isn’t all that healthy but it was oatmeal raisin!)  Then, I ate leftovers on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and today I went and got a grilled chicken sandwhich and baked potato from Wendy’s.  It was a little farther of a drive and I had to fight some traffic, but it was worth it to be able to have a french fry free lunch.  Now, I am one of those people who has always eaten what she wanted and not care too much about the result. So whenever I have tried to change my habits, it makes me focus on how much I want the thing I tried to give up. This way, I feel like I can still splurge on going out for lunch (I have to get out of my white, windowless office sometimes) but do it without getting fatty french fries.  Yeah for me! Anyone want to join me in the French Fry Free February challenge?  I wish I had some time to create a really cute badge to put on everyone’s blog, but I don’t. Sorry. If anyone wants to create one to share, go right ahead! Now, I am off to go check the Sew Mama Sew blog really quick to see if they have any new projects posted and then it’s back to work! Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

February 8, 2008. Tags: , . Quilting Month, random stuff.

6 Comments

  1. Jean-o replied:

    O.K. I’m a go! But to be honest since this is the 8th I will have to hold on a little longer into March too! Cause I did have some frys on Monday or Tues. this week. What I really need to work on is just snacking in general! Water would be good though, I need to drink more water anyway… maybe what I will do is replace the snacking with water… I may slosh about a bit! And make more trips to that one room….. ahem! But, all in all it is for the betterment of my health! I’m with ya kid! Jean

  2. lisakingsley replied:

    Count me in. I don’t think I have had fries since the first of the month, and I can make it the rest of the month. I kinda feel like it is cheating because they are not my most favorite food, but I do eat them just because they are there. I also am trying to increase my water intake. I do pretty good while I am at work so now I just have to work on when I am at home.

  3. French Fry Free February « Pincushion Points replied:

    […] 8, 2008 by lisakingsley Anna posted today that she is not going to eat french fries for the entire month of February and asked […]

  4. Holly replied:

    I saw this over at Lisa’s and applaud you for taking steps to improve your eating habits. I’d join except I don’t like french fries therefore do not eat them. What I have done since Jan 1, though, is eaten a bowl of steel cut oatmeal every day. You know, the kind that you have to cook for 25 minutes. I want to improve my cholesterol so that has been my major change so far. Plus substituting fruit for snacks. Feels good to take care of yourself, huh? Keep up the good work.

  5. Ruthie replied:

    I made a little banner for you and gave you a little props from my blog. 🙂

    I don’t eat fries as often as I used to (but we recently did eat some when we were starving!) but now that I’ve vowed not to I have an intense craving for them.

    ruthie

  6. Lauri replied:

    Hmmm…so it’s like the 21st or something but, I can still join the French Fry Free thing, because I haven’t eaten ANY french fries all month, right??? lol!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

