A Very Important Couple of Weeks

WARNING, this is NOT necessarily Sewing Related! But I will attempt to relate it back to sewing if possible. 

For the first time in my 28 year life, and as my mother in law told me for the first time in her 50 something life, the Texas Democratic PrimaCaucus (a word borrowed from MSNBC) matters! In fact, I didn’t even know that Texas had a primary and a caucus until this year!  But it really, truly matters and MY vote will matter too! Except, I don’t think I’ll be able to vote in the primacaucus because I didn’t get my address or my name changed in time (I only had four years to do it!) But hubby can vote. I wish I was a social studies teacher right now so that I could use what is going on in the real world as a teaching tool. This might be one of the last times that Texas matters in a Democratic primary like this!  Well, you might have noticed that I added a new little widget/picture over on the right side of my blog. It’s true, I am declaring who I am voting for. I have been inspired!  If you click it you can visit a website created by all the Texans who support Barack Obama! I won’t go on about why he’s inspired me, but I will say, that for the first time in my 28 years I feel like my vote will count and be counted and that is inspiring in an of itself.  Every one is entitled to vote for whomever they feel is the best candidate and I will not judge you based on your decision. (Just don’t get my husband started, I voted for Nader in 2000 and NEVER heard the end of it for FOUR YEARS!) I actually never really paid much attention to politics when I was younger. The whole conservative vs liberal vs democrat vs republican thing really confused me.  I spent a lot of time in the car with my parents, the radio always either on NPR or AM 550 with Rush Limbaugh. I still listen to NPR, but NOT Rush. I never understood anything he was ranting about, just that he sounded angry all the time.  But my husband has sort of made me learn about politics by default, he watches MSNBC every day after work and so I get to listen to it by default (only one TV in the house).  That’s OK though, but sometimes I get a little tired of people just talking to hear themselves speak.  They don’t seem to care about what the other person is saying, or if they do, they already know what they are going to say.  Last night, MSNBC had two specials on, back to back. The first was one hour dedicated to Barack Obama, his life and his political career. The second hour, to be fair, was dedicated to Hillary Clinton, her life and her political career.  Strangely, they didn’t show an hour dedicated to John McCain or Mike Huckabee.  Maybe that will be for another day.  But I watched both hours, to be fair, and I realized that both candidates are quite similar. But somehow, Obama still inspires me more. So, if you live in Texas and you are reading this, or you live in a state that hasn’t had a primary yet, don’t count yourself out, because in the last 50 years Texas hasn’t really mattered much in the Democratic primary, but this year, 2008, they really could have a lot to say about who will become the nominee. Oh, and we need to go vote in the actual election in November as well. Well, I thought I might be able to relate this to sewing, but I don’t really know how I am going to do that. Just maybe to say something like, if we get a better president he or she will help to improve the economy somehow (perhaps with magic) and by improving the economy our pay might go up which means more money for fabric! OK, that’s a stretch. I’ll just say that the only other thing that inspires me to action as much as Barack Obama, is a new project waiting for me in my sewing room! How’s that!  Until next time.

 Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

February 21, 2008. Tags: , . random stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

