Muffins, Quilt Show, Goats and some Craftiness

Last weekend seems so far away, especially since tomorrow is Saturday, but I wanted to post some pictures of stuff I did last weekend and this week. I’ll try to keep my words to a minimum and let you enjoy my fabulous picture taking skills, haha.

muffins.jpg

Last Friday night I got a recipe for blueberry muffins from my mother in law. She raved about how great they were, so I decided to make some. I made 6 that were “Texas Sized” and 11 that were smaller. They were pretty good. I put them in my cake dome to make them pretty and keep them fresh longer. Take that Martha Stewart!

landmarininn2.jpg

The next day, my mom and I went to a quilt show at the Landmark Inn, which is in Castroville, TX. It is a very old, historic inn that is run by volunteers. All the rooms have old fashioned beds with quilts on them! I want to try to organize a quilting retreat at this Inn. The show was nice, only about 20 quilts but they were beautiful. Here’s another building at the Inn.

landmarkinn1.jpg

When I went back to visit my mom after the show, we got to visit with her goats. They were super cute!

babygoats.jpg

 Not much happened up until Wednesday, when I came home and found a box addressed to me! It was the speacial package from my swapper friend, Stephanie, who was my Friends Forever Swapper from the Quilting for Dummies yahoo! group I am in.  The box was FULL of scraps of fabric that she wanted to have a new home. YEAH! More fabric!

friendsforever1.jpg

 That same evening I decided to try my hand at making some birthday cards for my friends. I am in charge of sending birthday cards for my sorority, Phi Mu’s, Alumnae chapter. I thought it would be a nice touch to send hand made cards. It was a slow start, but once I came up with a design, they went together pretty fast! I tried to make them look like a log cabin quilt pattern.

happybdayred.jpg    thinkingofyou.jpg   happybdaypurple.jpg   happybdayblue.jpg

 I found this awesome paper at Target that is self adhesive and it works great! I just cut some strips and some scallops with my decorative scissors and away I went! I also took a field trip to Target again yesterday (Thursday) and bought myself a Xyron Create A Sticker. This awesome machine will allow me to run paper through and it becomes sticky on the back! I also read that I can use it with…FABRIC! Yeah! the possibilities are endless! I might even consider making sets of these and selling them with the envelopes. It’s still brewing in the back of my head. So, that’s what I’ve been up to this week. I haven’t been overly inspired to sew much. Don’t really know why. I hope to finish my Double Irish Chain baby blanket (the top at least) this weekend. They haven’t posted a new block on Sew Mama Sew for Quilting Month today. Perhaps they are just going to wrap it up with highlights.  Stay tuned because there are good things to come on this blog. Including “You Might Be a Quilter…” comedy dialogue, (thank you Jeff Foxworthy) created by my quilting friends and me! Until next time.

 Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

P.S. I have not eaten a single French Fry for the entire month of February and I barely even crave them! I have found that my choices in where I go to eat for lunch have changed because some places don’t have any alternatives to french fries, besides just getting the sandwhich. Yeah for me!

February 29, 2008. Tags: , , . Quilting, Quilting Month, random stuff, sewing.

6 Comments

  1. Lisa W. replied:

    Yummy! Blueberry muffins. I have a great one too, makes me want to make some now. 🙂 I really like the cards you made!

  2. dorkyquilts replied:

    That was a fun post! A variety show! Thanks for taking us along and baking us blueberry muffins and letting us pet the goat. Love the cards, too–an instant gratification quilting project; what could be better?

  3. Bradie replied:

    Anna!
    Very nice looking blog, you are good with design. Congrats on no fries… can not say the same for myself but there is always next month! Thanks for the link on your page… totally sweet!
    Bradie

  4. Jean Cogdill replied:

    Hi Anna,
    It’s been a while since I’ve written much of anything.
    Yeah…. muffin’s are better than French Fries anyway! So much better for us too! Well, sometimes…
    I’m anxious to read your “You might be a quilter if…..”
    That sounds fun…. guess I could start with a few friends too…
    Take care…. back to bed here. It’s early… somewhat. I got up with my DH to see him off to work. Night, night.
    Jean

  5. Jean Cogdill replied:

    I just noticed the time that’s on the msg I left….. something is not right….. it’s only around 5:30 a.m. here…. really if it was 7:00 I would just stay up!

  6. fatiah replied:

    Will you share with us the muffin’s recipe, please. It sounds so delicious.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

