Cards for Kids

When I checked my e mail today, I had received the Quilter’s World Newsletter which is presented by Sandra L. Hatch. I was only just skimming it as I usually do and I came across something that made me stop and read more carefully. It points to the generosity of quilters and I was just dying to pass it along. I quickly e mailed Sandra to ask her if I could share the information from her newsletter in my blog. She said (and I was so thrilled that she responded so quickly) that as long as I reference the source, sure!  So here is what she had in her newsletter:

Cards for Kids
Meander Publishing is sponsoring a Cards for Kids special quilted post-card exhibit and sale at the Home Machine Quilting Show in Salt Lake City from May 8-10. Post cards will be sold for $25 each with 100 percent of the proceeds benefiting the Children’s Miracle Network, a nonprofit organization founded in 1983 by Marie Osmond’s family, headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah.

If you are interested in donating a 4-inch by 6-inch quilted post card with a children’s theme, the cards can be stitched, embroidered, painted, beaded, felted and embellished in any way — use your creativity. Be sure that any 3-D embellishments are securely attached. Please sign your card and include your city and state or country. No other rules apply except to be generous and have fun. Multiple card donations will be cheerfully accepted.

Cards can be sent to Meander Publishing, Cards for Kids, P.O. Box 918, Fort Lupton, CO 80621, to be received no later than April 25, 2008. E-mail Vicki Anderson at infor@upquiltmag.com if you have any questions. Go to Hmqs.org if you would like more information about the show.

 I haven’t made any actual quilted postcards – yet. An e mail group I am in for younger (20 or 30 something) quilters had talked about making them and sending them to each other for our birthdays. That is what made me interested in this article! I already have some instructions that were shared by a member of that group. Plus, my sorority, Phi Mu, has made Children’s Miracle Network their sole philanthropy, and they raise money to support CMN every year.  I am hoping that I will be able to organize some sort of card making day with my sorority (the alumnae and the collegiates) so that we can make several cards and send them off to this fundraiser!  I hope that you all will consider this opportunity to get crafty and creative and help some children in the process. Feel free to pass this information along, just be sure to credit Sandra Hatch’s newsletter as the source. Thank you!

Happy Stitches,

Anna

March 7, 2008. Tags: , , , . Quilting, sewing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

