My Dishwasher: A Eulogy (I wish)

I thought my dishwasher died
Not a tear have I cried
It is so terribly old
That my husband I told
A new one I already spied.

Unfortunately, he did SOMETHING and it works now, BUMMER! I still want a new one and I think that I am going to GET one if I have to throw a fit to get it! Haha, just kidding. I know it’s on it’s last leg though, because last night, I loaded it and put the tablet in as usual. When I closed it and turned the cycle selector, nothing happened. I opened and closed it again to get it to start, NOTHING. I told hubby, “I think the dishwasher died.” He said (jokingly) “What did you do to it?” By the way, did I mention that it’s at least 12 years OLD!?? And last week it took opening and closing three times to get it to even start!  I tried everything I could think of to get it to start last night. Then this morning, hubby finally decided to “touch” the darn thing and guess what, IT STARTED! Oh, I didn’t mention that after I told him it was BROKEN, I HAND WASHED ALL OF OUR DISHES! Because I didn’t want dirty dishes sitting in there for days. So when he turned it on this morning and it worked, he started a wash cycle on already clean dishes which I had put in there to DRY. Now is that inefficient or what!?  Oh, and one other thing, I REALLY wanted a new dishwasher for Christmas. That was the original plan, that I was going to get one for Christmas. Uhm, no. For some reason Dear Hubby decided HE didn’t want a new dishwasher (mostly because HE never has to wash the dishes anyway) HE wanted to buy this HUGE media cabinet, which is pretty but cost about the same or more than my dishwasher and doesn’t save us money, water, electricity, or TIME. So, because I know him and I know how to pick my battles, I agreed we could get the media cabinet instead, but if the dishwasher died, I would HAVE to get a new one! So, last night, I was GIDDY with excitement at the thought of getting the new dishwasher! We had even found one at Home Depot (when we went to look at the flooring) that was a better price but had all the options and style we wanted.  PLUS they are having a SALE on that model for a little while at least! I figure it’s only a matter of time (hopefully only days) until this one dies completely. But I hope it does so before next week so that we can get the new one delivered while hubby is home for Spring Break! (Kill two birds with one stone, right?) They are already coming on Monday to measure the floors for when we decide to install the new laminate we’ve picked out. But that’s a different story, I think. Sorry this isn’t quilting related, but it’s a funny and sad story! I suppose I should be happy we even HAVE a machine that washes the dishes. But really, we couldn’t live without it. There isn’t enough time in the day to hand wash all the dishes we go through and it’s just the two of us at the moment! And I noticed that we are/were washing at least ONE LOAD of dishes a day! Doesn’t that seem excessive? Oh well. Just had to vent a little. Hopefully something about quilting next time.

Happy Stitches,
Anna

March 13, 2008. Tags: . random stuff.

2 Comments

  1. blueflowertreasures replied:

    Hi Anna, Rebecka from Blueflower Treasures here. 🙂 Yep, we lessening our chances with the quilt giveaway aren’t we? I actually dreamed about that quilt last night, lol.
    I had to comment here on your dishwasher post. I don’t have a dishwasher AT ALL. We live in an 109 year old house and though the kitchen has been updated, there is no dishwasher or even room for one. AND I have 5 children…so the dishes, along with the laundry, are my biggest daily challenges. Thankfully, both my hubby and my oldest (who is 8 1/2) help out, or we’d be doing the paper plate thing!
    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll, I’m glad to return the favor.
    ~Rebecka

  2. Alice replied:

    oh go ahead and buy a new dishwasher. They tend to come with installation,the installers will take away the old one and the new ones are so efficient and quiet you’ll kick yourself for putting it off as long as you have. I replaced a 15 year-old one and was amazed that my water usage went down, the scale and lime build-up disappeared the glasses and that I could bearly hear the thing even when in the same room.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

