Use What You Have Challenge

Feel free to use my badge.
Feel free to use my badge.

Here is a little badge I created to remind myself that this month I am challenging myself (and you can play along too) to use what I have in my stash.  Uhm, don’t tell anyone that I went shopping yesterday, ok?  The fabrics pictured are just a sampling of what I have in my stash and I want to create an entire project without buying anything new.  I hope I can do it. I am pretty sure I can. If I need something, I’ll just go “shopping” in my stash. In truth, my stash isn’t really too overpowering. I am able to fit the majority of it on one bookcase.  I’ve only been collecting fabric for a little over three years anyway.  So, can you create something using only fabrics from your stash? With an entire month within which to work, how many projects can you complete? I am going to focus on a couple that are UFOs that I know I have all the materials to complete, I just have to put my mind to it and finish them. I am also working on a flower applique quilt that I am just making up as I go along.  It’s fun and even though my hand was hurting last night from cutting out so many flowers, I REALLY like the effect I am achieving.  I would post pictures, but unfortunately, the batteries on my camera DIED!  So, go ahead, go shopping in your stash, you might meet up with some old aquaintances and get to know them better and turn them into something beautiful.  I think you can use my badge, if you just right click it and select “Save Image As” you should be able to save it to your computer. Just do me a favor and link it back to my blog, OK? Also, please let me know if you plan to join the challenge and post your progress. Thanks! (I really get motivated if I feel as though I am not the only one in a challenge.) Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

P.S. This isn’t limited to only quilting, I’ll probably be making a few tote bags and other things with all those jelly rolls and charm packs I’ve collected. Also, I have some embroidery that I could work on without buying anything new.

July 6, 2008. Tags: , , , , . Quilting, sewing, Use What You Have Challenge.

2 Comments

  1. BlueflowerTreasures replied:

    I’d love to join in! I’m taking a month off of my business sewing to catch up on family sewing AND trying to do lots of it without buying any more fabric…because my stash fills a few more than *one* bookcase, lol. I’ve already made 3 skirts for my oldest dd and have lots more to come. 🙂
    ~Rebecka
    PS I like your button and I’m glad to use it!

  2. I’m Back! « Sew Good Sew Far’s Weblog replied:

    […] Use What You Have Challenge […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

