I’m Back!

I’d love to say that I was away on a grand quilting safari and that’s why I haven’t posted for almost three months, but unfortunately, that’s not the case. In fact, I had A LOT of personal stuff going on at home and that was keeping me from sewing/quilting AND blogging.  But, this isn’t the place to really get into that. Thanks Fatiah and Peggyann for posting comments to ask about me. It reminded me that, yes, I do have a blog and yes, some people out there actually READ it! Oh, and my other excuse is that I’ve been voluntarily (sort of) working 4-6 hours overtime every weekend for about the last month and a half. So, that has taken up a lot of my weekend time to sew and blog. The good news is, that extra money is going toward my stash fund for the Houston International Quilt Festival coming up in just a couple of weeks! That has really been my motivator for working overtime.  I HAVE managed to start a new project for my Godson. His birthday was early September and he turned FIVE years old! Where does the time go? I realized I purchased supplies to make him a quilt TWO years ago, so I figured I’d best actually start working on it, maybe I’ll finish before he graduates HIGH SCHOOL. Actually, about three days before his birthday party, I got super inspired to start making the quilt so here are some pictures. It’s a very simple pattern I just made up on the fly, I call it Fit to be Tied. It got that name because I am not actually going to quilt it, since that will take me FOREVER, I am going to tie the corners between the squares. This will give him a wonderful quilt, quickly, and I even got some DARK BLUE minkee for the backing from my mother-in-law (Thank YOU!!).  I hope to have it done BEFORE Christmas so that he has something to snuggle under on the couch.  As promised, here a some pictures:

In case you are wondering, the bluish fabric in between the novelty prints is denim. I chopped up some old blue jeans I had that were in two different colors (faded and not so faded) and used those in between. (haha, Use What You Have Challenge Anyone?) I think it pulls together the various prints nicely. There are a few more rows that I have not completed yet. I’ve also gotten two full rows of Chelsea’s Boutique finished. Using the In Between Quilt piecing method, I am working on both tops at the same time. Well, I guess that’s it for now. Until next time.

Happy Quilting,

Anna

October 19, 2008. Tags: , , , . Quilting, sewing.

One Comment

  1. Lisa W. replied:

    Hi Anna, so glad you are back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

