Show Me the Stash

Today on Sew Mama Sew, they have asked us to share about our stash! How exciting, a fabric-a-holics fan club! Now I will know I am not alone!  I am going to pretend like I am some quilting world celebrity and that I am sitting down in an interview with the store (just to make it more interesting.) So here are the questions they asked:

  • What do you usually sew?   Anything I have time for.  I love to make tote bags, baby blankets, aprons, pin cushions, and quilts, oh and did I mention skirts, curtains, pillows,  and pillowcases? Hmm, the list goes on and on.
  • When you shop for fabric, what size cuts do you usually buy? (i.e. If you see something beautiful, but you don’t have a use for it right away, how much do you buy?) I love to buy charm packs because I love to have a little square of all the fabrics in a collection. I also have a lot of fat quarters (although not as many as some do), I think it usually depends on the project I am working on or the mood I am in. It could also depend on the direction the wind is blowing and the position of the planets at the time of purchase.
  • Do you buy on impulse or do you go out looking for something you need? Is there a difference? Haha, usually I got looking for something I “need” and end up buying other stuff on “impulse” as well. As far as I am concerned, anything I buy, is something I “need” (although my husband might disagree.)
  • Are you a pre-washer? If you are, do you wash your fabric before you need it, or only when you’re ready to use it?   I always pre-wash, if the fabric is large enough. I wouldn’t pre-wash charms or jelly rolls because there wouldn’t be anything left if I did! I approach it like this, if I wash some of the fabric for the project, I wash it all, and visa versa. If I buy “impulse” fabric and then bring it home, I usually just throw it in the wash with my usual laundry.
  • Do you iron it?  Usually right before I cut it, why spend more time than needed with the hot iron?
  • How do you sort it? (color, print size, collection, etc.) I recently organized my sewing room and “stash” and realized that most of my fabric was purchased as part of a kit for a specific project. Therefore, I have separate bins for specific projects. Any other fabric not specified is sorted by color. Although, I do have three smallish tubs of fat quarters in a separate closet. 
  • Do you have any special folding techniques? Only for the fat quarters, fold in half selvage to selvage, then fold in thirds and in half again. Makes them the perfect size to fit in the clear bins.
  • How do you store your fabric? I think I answered this, but I have some new shelves and one has the fabric that is in larger cuts, sorted by color. In the closet I have fat quarters, charms and jelly rolls.
  • What tips do you have for building up a well-rounded stash? I would say, hmm, visit the Houston Quilt show or other big quilt shows. I purchased a lot of fabric there. I am not sure my stash is that well rounded though. It was a great way to see a large variety of fabrics though. Also, buy what you love so you always have something that will inspire you for future projects. (You can always run out to the fabric shop for anything else you need.) 
  • When do you say enough is enough?  When my husband or my credit card cuts me off? Haha, I don’t really know because I don’t think I’ve gotten to that point yet.
  • What are some of your favorite stash-busting projects? This isn’t exactly a project, but if you cut your left over scraps into various sizes, such as 2 1/2″ strips or small rectangles, and store them in labeled buckets, you can make a quick charity quilt very easily. I got that idea from Bonnie Hunter’s website (she’s the queen of stashbusting, by the way.) 
  • Do you have a current favorite print in your stash? Let’s see it! I love all the fabrics in my stash, but I recently bought a charm pack and layer cake of the Swanky line from Chez Moi, I LOVE that group!
  • What’s your definition of the perfect stash? Mine! (Oh and the store in Paducah, Kentucky, I’ve heard is like Nirvana.)
  • Now, for pictures:

    newshelves

    The tubs on the top have my projects with the pattern facing out so that I can see what it is.

    Now my fat quarters are actually in three clear tubs.

    Now my fat quarters are actually in three clear tubs.

    So that’s my stash! I hope you enjoyed the interview!

    Happy Stitches to You,

    Anna

    February 5, 2009. Organizing, Quilting, sewing.

    2 Comments

    1. Sandy replied:

      I can definitely comment on the store in Paducah. It is like Nirvana. Thanks for your comment on my blog yesterday!

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback URI

