Some Excitement Recently

Wednesday was an exciting day. My husband brought home a new addition to our family. She is a five week old puppy, who only weighs 2.2 lbs. To put this in perspective, we have two other dogs. We have a five and a half year old german shepherd/doberman (we think) mix, who weighs roughly 80 lbs, his name is Sam Wise Gamgee Luna, and a smaller, black dog (no idea what her “breed” is) who is two and a half years old, weighs about 50 lbs and is named Clara Bella Luna. So, to get a new puppy was exciting and unexpected, but the fact that she only weighs 2.2 lbs is just mind boggling. I don’t think I’ve even owned a cat that was ever that small. Here is a picture of her, sorry that it’s fuzzy, I had to use my cell phone since the batteries in my camera died (of course).

Our newest addition.

Our newest addition.

Oh, and I didn’t tell you her name yet. We named her Starbuck for two reasons. One, I LOVE Starbuck’s coffee (and so does hubby) but the second reason is rather funny. My husband is a science fiction fan and he enjoys watching this series called Battlestar Galactica (the new one, not the ’70s one.) The main character in that series has a nickname of Starbuck. So, along with the fact that this precious baby is the color of a hazlenut latte, it’s a nod to hubby’s favorite show. Amazing that we both agreed on this name right away. I have also gotten a little taste of what it must be like to be a new parent. I haven’t gotten a good night’s rest since hubby brought her home on Wednesday.  This is because she is so small she wants to be close to body warmth and if I put her in her “pen,” which is our huge garden tub, she yelps until I come and pick her up. Needless to say, this makes it difficult to sleep comfortably when I have to sleep on the couch and am always worried that I’ll roll over and smother her or something. Also, the middle dog, Clara, has decided to be maternal and every time Starbuck makes a little wimper, Clara comes rushing over to see if she’s OK. That is fine, except that she has a very cold nose and usually ends up startling me awake when she nuzzles my arm where Starbuck is sleeping.  Oh, and my husband is being the typical dad, he falls asleep and doesn’t wake up a single time when Starbuck yelps or cries.  It could be due to his sleeping medication, but I feel very lonely in the parent department right now. In spite of our new addition and my lack of sleep, I was able to continue quilting Bailey’s Blanket yesterday, I am so close to finishing but I ran out of thread AGAIN! The worst part is that I bought the last spool that Memories by the Yard had, and it comes from Spain! The cashier said he would make a note that they needed to order more. I know for a fact they are the only quilt store in town that even carries Mettler’s silk-finish cotton varigated thread in those colors. That’s a huge bummer for me because I REALLY want to finish that quilt SOON! I might have to make a little road trip on a quest to find thread this weekend. That’s it for now.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

February 6, 2009. Quilting, random stuff.

One Comment

  1. Lisa replied:

    How sweet Anna. We got a new puppy also. When we got him he was 9 weeks old. He is now almost 13 weeks. He is a black lab cross. He is going to be big!I keep meaning to put some pictures of him on my blog but have not yet. He has grown so much since we have had him. What kind of dog is your little one. Looking forward to more pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

