Random Stuff and a New Quilt Design

Even though we love the basic floorplan of our house, there were several things we knew would need to be fixed, updated, or painted over time. One of the things I really wanted to do was improve the look of our mantle. Right now it’s just this floating thing over the fireplace that is surrounded by tile. Long story short, my dad has a friend who does building demolition and along the way he has collected some fireplace surrounds. Here is the one we have recently acquired.

Isn't it pretty?
Isn’t it pretty?

My hubby thinks it needs some sanding and to be stained a darker color. I almost think it would be perfect how it is. At this point, it’s just leaning up against the fireplace. We wanted to try it out to see if it would “fit.” I think it’s a huge improvement on the old mantle.

Old mantle = that brown thing above the pretty one.
Old mantle = that brown thing above the pretty one.

You can see where I have tried to make it look prettier than it is. I mean, it’s painted brown, yuck!  So, needless to say, I am thrilled about our new/old fireplace surround. It’s old because it came from a building that was torn down, cool, huh? And so far, it’s been FREE!

Onto more cuteness from my precious Starbuck (new puppy). Here is a little video I took of the dance she does when she knows she’s going to be fed. Sorry you have to go to a different site to see it, but I had already uploaded it over there and don’t really feel like taking the time to remember my YouTube password and everything.
And lastly, a new quilt design! I am making a quilt for my newest Godson, Ben. He is two years old, so I figured he should have a slightly educational quilt.  (That’s the former teacher in me.) So here is the design, luckily, I haven’t had to buy ANY new fabric for this one!
Made with novelty charms, denim charms, and 10" denim squares.

Made with novelty charms, denim charms, and 10" denim squares.

It might be difficult to see, but I tried to make the novelty charms in each block match in some way. Here’s a close up.
See? Trains in one block, turtles, and trucks. Each block matches.

See? Trains in one block, turtles, and trucks. Each block matches.

I am so excited about this quilt. It should be fast and fairly easy. I can’t wait to work on it this weekend (especially since the baptism is only a week away!) Well, that’s the update of everything for now. Until next time.
Happy Stitches to You,
Anna
 
February 18, 2009. Crafty Tuesday, quilt designs, Quilting, Use What You Have Challenge.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

