Sew Mama Sew FQ Swap

I recently joined the Sew Mama Sew FQ Swap (I promise I will be sending those out soon to all my swap partners.) Well, just last Friday I was reading the Sew Mama Sew blog and they listed the people who won their weekly FQ bundle give away and Nova was listed as one of the winners. I immediately clicked the link to go read her blog, A Card a Day. It is such cute blog, but guess what she posted that day? She posted about the FQs she was sending to her swap partners in the Sew Mama Sew FQ swap. Little did I know that I was going to be one of the lucky recipients!  Yippee! Yesterday when I checked the mail late in the evening, I was so thrilled to see a letter with the words “AIR MAIL” on it, indicating it had come from a far away land. It came from Australia and it was from Nova! I immediately recognized the pink tissue paper from the picture I had seen on her blog. That was so awesome, plus the fact that she chose to send me an Amy Butler print, when I absolutely adore any fabric that Amy Butler makes. Isn’t that cool? I mean, we didn’t even list anything about our preferences and she chose something I really liked. Must have been fate. I really enjoy being able to make new friends, especially in far away countries such as Australia. It is so cool to be able to tell people, Yeah, I have quilting friends in Australia, England, Switzerland, Canada and all over the US. Plus, these friends are so sweet and generous. You know, there are some serious bush fires going on in Victoria, Australia and I have seen so many bloggers post about the blocks they are making. In fact, I think I’ve seen it on almost every quilty blog I’ve read recently, and BELIEVE me, I’ve read A LOT of quilty blogs. In fact, according to the flickr group for the Bushfire Quilt Project, there are over 356 items listed, WOW that is A LOT of blocks.  So it seems as if that project is a huge success. Amazing. In addition, the Sew Mama Sew FQ swap inspired me to host another swap on my Quilting Friends group. I posted about it and had 15 people sign up! I think the format for this swap is so much easier than the previous swaps, and much more manageable. I mean, it is easier to send out four FQs to various addresses than it is to send the total number to one place, include an envelope for return shipping and postage, and then have to wait so long to get it! I am really excited about all the FQs I’ll be sending and receiving soon.  Also, I did get the supplies to make the butterfly project. I didn’t get to sew anything last night, but while I watched the President’s address to a join session of congress (official name) I was madly punching out butterflies from the pages of old catalogs or colorful scrapbook paper. I also think that in the process I have found a kindred spirit in Lolly at LollyChops.  Like I said, I totally enjoy making new bloggy friends and I’ve made two in the last two days! Yippee! Until next time.

Happy Stitches and Paper Punches to You,

Anna

February 25, 2009. Crafty Tuesday, friendsday, sewing.

2 Comments

  1. Nova replied:

    Hey Anna! Wow, I can’t believe your fat quarter arrived already! Glad you like it and thank you for all the nice comments about my blog 🙂 I love your blog and will be adding you to my blogroll too, once I’ve figured out how to do that! Still learning all the ins and outs of this blogging lark, everyday I figure out a new tool or shortcut. I was keen to learn more about your quilting friends group, I’ll pop on over and have a peek. Sometime this year I’d love to be part of a virtual quilting bee so if you’re ever doing anything like that please keep me in mind. You can email me direct nflitter@bigpond.net.au if you like anytime.

  2. Peta-Jane replied:

    Hi Anna,
    I found your blog via Nova . You are one of my SMS swap buddies !
    I will be mailing your fabric on Monday…I had to wait until tomorrow to purchase it …I am off to the Australian Quilt Expo in Melbourne and really wanted to buy my swap fabric there..not much choice where I live !
    I am new to blogland but I am loving the vibe amongst all the crafters…it really is a small world !!
    x Peta-Jane x

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

