My favorite season is Spring

I think that, except for the high pollen count, my favorite season is now Spring. In my region of Texas, we don’t really have much in the way of definative seasons. Heck, we’ve had temperatures all the way up to 80 degrees this winter!  And, even though it may not be long before those 80 degree high days turn into 90 degree high days, I am trying to enjoy it while I can. In the Spring, I can wear cooler, lighter clothing, in brighter, sunnier colors. Considering that I sit in an office with NO windows and in the almost dark (I turn off the yucky overhead florescent light for a calmer lamp light), I really appreciate nice weather days. Also, it’s great to start to see all the little green buds popping out on the various plants around the campus where I work and in the plants in my backyard. Yes, I know Spring doesn’t officially start until March 20 or 22, but the Texas groundhog must have seen his shadow because spring seems to have sprung early this year. Now that I can wear lighter, cooler clothes, including skirts, it makes me start to re-examine my wardrobe. It seems like only last week I was going through my clothes in my closet and putting the sleeveless or short sleeved items into a tub for storage (oh, wait, that WAS last week when we had a mini cold front!) This is where I learn the benefit of layers of clothing! The mornings are cooler, in the 50’s and 60’s but the high is 80, so by the time I leave work in the afternoon, a turtleneck sweater would just be too warm! Now, what does any of this have to do with sewing? Well, I have a TON of skirt patterns and even some cute cropped pants patterns that I have wanted to try making.  Last year, I got so far as to have traced off a pattern from the pattern piece that I wanted to make. I never got to the cutting out of the fabric part though. In my sewing room closet, I have several yards of nice, cool, linen fabrics that have been washed and are just waiting for me to find the time  and the courage to cut them out and make some skirts! See?

Clothing fabric is to the left of the brown hanging storage.
Clothing fabric is to the left of the brown hanging storage.

 Sorry for the yucky picture, I couldn’t figure out how to cut out brown hanging storage thingy. My mother in law has already mentioned that she wants to make herself some clothes for this summer too. Luckily, she doesn’t have to go to work every day and worry about what her clothes look like (although I know she wants to look nice) so I think we are going to have to have a skirt sewing weekend. Why not? What can possibly be so difficult about making skirts? I’ve made one already, way back, it was a gored skirt, turned out sort of cute, but didn’t exactly drape the way I wanted. Probably because I used some nice quilting cottons that are a little stiffer than desired, well, next time I’ll know better. I don’t know why I have a fear of making clothes. Well, to be honest, I don’t have a fear, I just don’t have a lot of time. Isn’t that always the excuse? Either no time, or no money. Perhaps if I could learn to survive on less money, I could work less and have more time! Wow, what a concept! So, as the early days of spring are upon us, spring fever (and hay fever) are attacking and I am just itching to try my hand at making some linen skirts (I hope the itching is from the desire to sew and not from a rash.) I am sure I’ll take many pictures along the way, so you know I’ll update you as I progress (if I do.) In fact, I am thinking of having a skirt making day as a Crafty Girls project in May. So many of my Crafty Girl friends have seen my butterfly picutre and wanted to learn to make it, so we’ll probably make the butterfly picture in April. Yeah for Crafty Girls! I suppose that’s all for my morning ramblings. Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,
 
Anna
P.S. Making skirts would also help me slash my stash as well as finish up some UFOs, so it serves several purposes! Oh, and it will hopefully save us some money because I won’t have to go out and buy any new skirts, and they will fit me perfectly (hopefully!)
March 5, 2009. Crafty Girls, sewing, UFOs, Use What You Have Challenge.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

