Rain in the Forecast

It was raining pretty hard as I left my house this morning. Sort of one of those fresh spring rains that we haven’t seen much of this spring. Unfortunately, before I got a mile down the road, it had sort of died out. But that’s OK. I think it’s going to be gloomy and yucky this weekend, perfect sewing weather. OK, I know what you’re going to say, the last time I promised a stash busting, sewing challenge weekend I failed, but this time it will be different. I had to run to my sewing room this morning to grab something before I left for work, and my Avalon quilt was CALLING to me! It was saying, “Annnnnaa, don’t foorgeeeet meee!” Creepy, huh? So I just know I need to get in there either tonight or tomorrow to work on it. I think I could even FINISH it, including the quilting part by the end of the weekend, how’s that for an ambitious goal?!! The only place I get a little hung up is knowing what color of thread to use for the quilting. The top has lots of different colors and the sashing is white, so I am sure whatever color I use will really show up. I guess that will be an interesting poll for another day.  I really love the modern look of the quilts on AmandaJean’s blog and she is sort of my inspiration for the pieced back to this quilt.  Not just one of her quilts, ALL of them! Oh, and I am also really excited because I am planning to set a date for a quilt retreat. I’m going to book the dates at an actual Quilter’s Retreat place and go up there with my MIL and maybe some other quilting friends and we’re going to spend the entire weekend sewing and being pampered and having our food prepared for us. Hopefully we’ll get to go in late June. Oh, that will be sew exciting! Well, that’s about it for now. Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

April 17, 2009. Tags: , , , . fabric, Goals, quilt designs, Quilting, sewing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

