Metamorphosis Monday

met_monday

Susan at Between Naps on the Porch is hosting yet another Metamorphosis Monday!

I am sort of bummed, I can’t find my before pictures of the yucky bathroom! So, I’ll try to describe it. When we moved into our house, the master bathroom had ivy wallpaper border adhered to ALL of the window and door casings and floor trim! It also had some sort of ivy stickers stuck around the GINORMOUS mirror that spanned the double vanity. It had the usual builder blah lighting too. The walls were blah white (sort of looked like thin primer.) The first thing I did on the FIRST day I was in the house was start scraping the ivy stickers off the wall around the mirror.  I slowly began peeling the wallpaper border off the trim too, turns out it wasn’t stuck on too well. Oh, and I forgot to mention that the previous owners had also decided to stick contact paper with a criss cross palm tree design on the front of the cabinets and the linen closet door. And the smallish closet door (which was in the closet and had a hole in it above the doorknob) had been replaced with a folding accordian “door” thing. That quickly came down too. 

[Pictures coming soon, keep reading]

FINALLY, during July of 2007, my fabulous hubby started painting the bathroom, we had picked a nice creamy color for the trim and ceiling which was the same as in our bedroom and a light, fresh green color for the walls.  We eventually picked out some new lighting, turns out of if you buy the glass shades separately from the fixture, you can save some major $$, which is what we did.  Well, the new fixtures were great and the paint was nice, but we didn’t paint around the new fixtures and didn’t want to paint anything else until I found the perfect set of mirrors (for the best price) to replace Super Mirror.

[Almost there, I promise, pictures in a bit.]

Eventually, a few weeks ago (2.5 yrs after moving in and almost a year after painting), I found those mirrors, and though hubby didn’t way to help paint, I set to it. We took down the giant mirror so that I could paint the wall behind it. I also painted around the light fixtures (FINALLY) and while I was waiting for that paint to dry before the second coat, I decided to apply the antiquing glaze (Ralph Lauren Tobacco) to the yucky white cabinets. Oh, and I also attached the hardware we had purchased forever ago. Things were really coming together.  Well, I must say that I REALLY LOVE  how the bathroom turned out. So much that I took A TON of pictures from different angles. I still think we need to put some little shelves between the mirrors, but it’s not bad for one day’s work of painting, antique glazing and mirror hanging.

Pictures, NOW!

bathroom_fullview

New Bathroom

Closeup of the antiquing glaze and hardware.

Closeup of the antiquing glaze and hardware.

View from the side toward the bathtub.

View from the side toward the bathtub.

If I ever find the before pictures I’ll be sure to come back and update this post. It really is a rather dramatic change.

Thanks for visiting to see my metamorphosis for today!

In quilting news, I finshed my Avalon quilt top this weekend (only one week from start to finish!) and purchased quilting thread, batting (from Bamboo, how earth friendly is that!) and some white and matching pinkish fabric for the backing. I’m going to a pieced back inspired by Crazy Mom Quilts. We’ll see how that turns out. I am totally excited about it. I think it will turn out fun and funky and the bright pink quilting thread on the white sashing will really pop! Maybe I’m breaking all the quilting rules, or perhaps I’m just making up some new ones.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

P.S. New updates to the shop! Visit Crafty Girls Workshop Blog for pictures of just visit our shop.

April 20, 2009. Tags: , , , . Crafty Girls Workshop, fabric, Metamorphosis Monday, Quilting, UFOs.

5 Comments

  1. KBeau replied:

    I can only imagine what it must have looked like. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen wallpaper on casing and baseboards before. Yuck! You did a great job.

  2. Cass at That Old House replied:

    There was a time when EVERYTHING seemed to have ivy on it, one way or another. But it sounds as if your bath had more than its fair share!

    The reincarnation of the bath looks fabulous. I LOVE those mirrors!

    Gorgeous. Cass

  3. Mrs. Petrie replied:

    Looks great! Love the mirrors.

  4. shetalkslikejune replied:

    Love the his and her mirrors.

  5. Lauri replied:

    Oh Anna! It is so beautiful! Absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

