Mystery Solved

I went to a mystery quilt class on Saturday, although since we really weren’t taught anything I would call it more of a workshop. It ran from 4:00pm to midnight. It was fun and I feel like I got so much accomplished. You know I am a busy quilter and so getting a big block of time like that to sit and sew is really a treat, especially when there are other quilters around too.  In advance of the class I really didn’t have any idea what the quilt would look like, I was instructed to purchase 20 FQs and 2-1/3 yd for a 6″ border.  I found the Flutterby collection by Tula Pink for Moda. Such cute fabrics!

MemoryQuilt2

I washed them and cut them according to the instructions.

Then when I got to the class, they handed me another set of instructions. I looked around and realized that this would be a sort of self paced “class” so I set up my machine and got to stitchin’!  It was so easy, just put two stacks of the 20 pieces next to each other and chain piece them as fast as possible.  Here are the blocks before I put them into the top.

MQblocks

They came out pretty big about 16-1/2″ unfinished.

I didn’t finish all the blocks during the class. Can you believe it? I had six hours to sew and I didn’t finish all 20 blocks! I did work on them Sunday night and got the top finished except for two borders.

MQLayout2

I know it’s not the best picture. Sorry, it was late, close to midnight on Sunday when I finished the pieced top! Then last night, Monday, I stayed up until almost midnight just putting on a 1-1/2″ border to set off the center. I was so proud of myself for being able to use some of my stash for that border. I haven’t taken a picture of it yet due to the need to frog stitch (rippit rippit) a little bit. Then I plan to add the 6″ border which is the white background with the teal criss cross design. Maybe I’ll get that done tonight and take another picture. I couldn’t believe how much I got accomplished in just two nights of sewing! See, even busy quilters can Git Er Done! They even talked me into signing up for the next mystery class in August. This time I might bring my MIL and/or mom.  I think my mom would like it because it’s fast and very easy (she’s still a beginner) whereas my MIL might think it’s boring, she’d probably rather spend her time doing other things.

By the way, we’ve gotten a few new items in our shop, so stop on by and see what’s new! If you purchase any of our featured items I’ll send you an extra treat with your purchase!

Until next time.

Happy Stitches to You,

Anna

May 19, 2009. Tags: , . Quilting, random stuff, sewing, Use What You Have Challenge.

3 Comments

  1. Kathy Wagner replied:

    Very fun! I love mystery quilts too!

  2. jaybird replied:

    nice quilt!! i love flutterby!

  3. susan replied:

    oh it turned out so pretty
    i really like the fabrics you chose

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

