Near and Dear to my Heart

In the fall of 1998 I joined the second oldest women’s fraternity, Phi Mu. One of the main reasons I wanted to join this group was that they support the Children’s Miracle Network. A friend of mine when I was very little had Lukemia and I vaguely remember her being sick many times and having to be out of school. When I became a teacher in 2002, I had a child in my class who had Lukemia and he was also out of school several times due to doctor’s visits. Sadly, he passed away in 2003, when he would have been in first grade. The Children’s Miracle network supports hospitals for children who have terminal illnesses. It provides the money so that the children can get the care they need to make them comfortable and help them fight their illnesses if possible. It just so happens that San Antonio, the city I live in, has a Children’s Miracle Network Hospital and the money our Phi Mu collegiate and alumnae chapters have raised has all gone to support our local hospital. We not only raise money, we visit the children at least once a year and are constantly looking for ways to support our CMN hospital. So, what is my point here? Well, it turns out that a wonderful event, called the Torch Relay, Miles for Miracles is passing through San Antonio in November! I’m going to participate, it’s a 5K walk, and my goal is to raise $100 (at least) whereas our team goal is to raise $2000.  It is very possible that the Torch Relay will be going through your town as well. Please, consider supporting this amazing event. The stories about the children are so fantastic and heartwarming.  If you feel comfortable doing so, please consider donating a few dollars to help me reach my goal. You can do so by clicking here.  It is completely secure and your information will not be shared, except to tell me you donated. Thank you so much, I hope you’ll consider this or some other organization to support, since there are so many amazing groups out there. Thanks for listening to me ramble about this special organization.

Happy Stitches,

Anna

September 12, 2009. Tags: . random stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

